Rollyo

I used Rollyo to ‘roll my own search engine’. This means you can create an individualised search engine using up to 25 websites on a particular topic. The Rollyo search engine will then only search the sites you have selected when you enter a query.

I created an Aussie Swing Dance search engine, using seven swing dance links from Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide and Hobart. The results when I searched ‘Hobart’ weren’t bad, but I didn’t like that the sponsored links were intertwined with the regular results.

I don’t think I will end up using Rollyo myself, but I can see it’s value if you had a bunch of websites you particularly liked on a topic and didn’t want to search them all one by one.

Leave a Reply

